More delights from Stella

“Tickle, tickle!”

I don’t know if this happens to other people, but our house is always littered with discarded socks. Stella loves to pick them up and put them on her hands, then tickle people with them. Very sweet, but a bit yucky!

2016-08-27 21.23.02

Always on the lookout for an opportunity to help, her favourite jobs include taking the washing out of the washing machine, listing them as she goes along “Daddy’s pants. Jet’s shorts. Stella’s top.” unloading the dishwasher, “Cup. Cup. Nuver cup.” and unpacking the shopping, “Lots of apples!  Wossat mummy? Mmmm, lovely lovely strawberries.” She might well say that, but she never eats them!

20160803_183543_resized
Regal elegance

She has developed a feminine habit of draping washing over herself and twirling around saying “I’m my a princess!” The items she has chosen recently include some of Chris’ pants and an old tea towel. Glamorous.

All day long

Stella sings from the moment she wakes up and you can still hear her over the baby monitor after she’s gone to bed. Her favourites include Happy Birthday, (although, tantalisingly, we never get to find out whose birthday it actually is – she just repeats the Happy Birthday bit!) Wind the Bobbin up, numerous theme tunes from Cbeebies and when she sings the alphabet song it goes on an infinite loop as she is yet to learn the “now I know…” bit.

She also loves to sing songs from nursery, but I’m not sure she quite has the lyrics right – “Goodbye childrens, goodbye childrens, goodbye childrens, I see you all next door!” She also improvises around Twinkle Twinkle, singing “How I wonder nn nn ah, Like a diamond in the sea!” Again, she always leaves her audience wanting more, and we never get to hear the rest.

She is an innovator too, and makes up a lot of her own tunes, as well as singing bah bah bah to some of her usuals. When she’s finished, she throws in a familiar ending, “All day long!”

20160819_120156_resized
It’s hard being small

She loves playing with other kids, and will often try to touch them or pat them to try and start a game of chase. When Jet was joining in with n activity on a recent visit to a castle, she was not happy to be left out. I explained why she couldn’t play – all the other kids were much bigger and she wouldn’t have been able to follow the instructions – she threw herself down for a good cry, then said miserably to a few passers-by, “I’m too small.”

“No mummy no mummy no!”

We have all observed that Stella says no in response to everything. If you offer her an apple, she will say “No thank you! I don’t like apples.” but take it and eat it anyway. Jet has started explaining this to people, to help them understand his contrary sister.

 

“In my pocket!”

Stella has noticed that other people seem to put things in their pockets. She hasn’t quite grasped the concept, but that hasn’t put her off. Any fabricky opening has become a pocket, so she shoves her important things down the front of her vest or up her t-shirt.

Having listened attentively to how the other members of the family talk, many features of our speech are now to be found in hers. A lot of what she says is a question to find out when something will be happening, such as “…then?” “…now?” “…later?” and (rather specifically) “…on Monday?” What this has highlighted to me is how focussed on time and deadlines Chris and I both are, usually wanting to know when Jet will put his clothes on, or whatever else we are *patiently* waiting for him to do.

20160808_161228_resized
“Need a nuver cuppa tea, member?”

Remember?

Perhaps concerned that we will forget about her, Stella keeps reminding us “Mummy, I need a snack, member?” “Wanna have a drink, member?” and sometimes just, “Mummy. Member?”

Once when dining with my parents, Grandad tucked a napkin into the neck of his t-shirt in an attempt to fit in with Stella. So now whenever a napkin is draped over her, she calls it a Grandad 😀

2016-08-27 21.15.11
Stella sporting a ‘Grandad’

It is delightful that she now has a strong enough grasp of language to tell us about things that have happened, as well as asking questions about what is going on. After swimming she had a lot to say -“Lots of jumping, mummy. I need a sleep! I saw Andy in the swimming pool.” She insists on calling her swimming teacher Andy, although she is in fact called Mandy. 😀

Little Hearts, Big Love
Rhyming with Wine
Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday
14 thoughts on “More delights from Stella

  1. Aw such a cute post. I am now always going to repeat “Cup. Cup. Nuver cup” every time I empty the dishwasher from now on as it’s just the cutest thing in the world. Miss Tot is also a big fan of “amember” as in “Amember Mummy, when I was a little baby…?” Thanks for linking with #fartglitter x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh I loved reading this latest update on the things Stella says – we get songs on an infinite loop here and a few changed lyrics. It’s adorable to listen to little ones singing even if it is a bit repetitive. Bless Stella telling the passers-by that she was too small to join in the activity. Love her calling the napkin a “Grandad” because Grandad had one tucked in too. Love that she drapes the washing over herself and pretends to be a princess and lists all the things being taken out of the washing machine or dishwasher “Nuver cup” is so cute. Thank you for sharing this with #ftmob 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for hosting Louise! Yes – I love her singing. It is giving me an insight into what it must have been like for my parents, as I NEVER stopped singing as a child – in fact I never stop singing now either! 🙂 xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I sat smiling away at all the cute things Stella says. I love “member”
    Little Miss OMG’s words are coming along and I can’t wait till she is coming out with things like this.

    She has a habit of putting any clothes on she finds. Everything goes on her head though.

    Great post
    #ftmob

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, I loooooooove posts like this!! Stella sounds like such a blast! It must be so fun being around her all day, because I found myself giggling at the little things she does. The “no” thing is absolutely adorable to me, and really reminds me of my 17-month-old. Any time I offer him something, he’ll shake his head no, but then open his mouth anyway, and it always leaves me laughing!!! Thanks so much for sharing ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

