Jet speaks sense

Despite his best efforts to look as though he lives on a different planet to the rest of us, he has been coming out with some pretty sensible stuff of late. Relatively speaking. In some of what follows, I could nearly see where he was coming from.

We were on our way to the Science Museum on the tube. As we went into the tunnel, he asked, “Will we see worms when we’re underground?

Out of the blue, “Why did the ancient Romans have roads if they didn’t have cars?

2016-05-07 21.02.47_resized

Juno was sniffing about at the open booze cupboard door in the kitchen. Jet was walking through on his way out to the garden, and spotted her. “I did not know that cats drink gin!” he declared.

Chicken Pox

The children have both had chicken pox. Whilst Stella suffered through it, Jet was his normal self but with spots. We waited until the healthy children of Enfield were safely at school before venturing out to the park on Jet’s bike. We had explained to him that he couldn’t use the equipment and why. He got the message, “Arnold might catch it! That wouldn’t be a good thing to do to one of my old friends!

2016-05-07 21.12.15_resized

A lot of time spent at home poorly meant Jet branched out a bit with his TV choices. A nice bit of commercial telly and he was like a little walking advert. One evening, out of the blue, he made the following suggestion:

Jet: If our washing machine breaks down or stops working, we could get a Hotpoint.

Me: Oh? 

Jet (conspiratorially): I don’t know what Hotpoints are or what they look like.

Whilst I doubt they’ll be using it in their next campaign, ten out of ten for listening!

It’s goodnight from him…

2016-05-07 21.09.02_resized

The children have new bunk beds. This was a risky business – I was half convinced that rather than saving space we would end up with bunk beds and cot beds in their box-like room, as one or other of them would refuse to sleep in the gigantic thing. But it has worked out for the best. As Jet lay down in his top bunk on the first night, he announced, “Ah yes. I think I will have some good dreams here.

But then there was this…

2016-05-07 21.00.14_resized

Walking along past the park, we saw daffodils poking their heads through the bars of the fence. I waxed lyrical about the variations in colour – different shades of yellow and orange, and we agreed they were lovely. Continuing on our way, we passed some more growing in a flowerbed. I pointed them out.

 

Me: Look Jet, those are pretty. Really pale yellow.

Jet: Yes. (Reaching around for just the right comparison) Like sick.

 

2016-05-07 21.00.43_resized
Now you come to mention it…

And this…

Jet is a man of many contradictions, perfectly illustrated by this exchange:

Me: We’re having rice for dinner.

Jet: Yuck.

Me: Rice is lovely!

Jet: Oh yeah. I want lots and lots and lots and lots and lots of that.

2016-05-07 21.10.56_resized

There he is! Not so sensible after all.

If you liked this, you can read more of Jet’s wisdoms here, herehere and here.

 

Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday
The Pramshed
Rhyming with Wine
Little Hearts, Big Love
Pink Pear Bear
24 thoughts on “Jet speaks sense

  1. This made me giggle!! My two year old is just stringing sentences together now…I can’t wait to hear what she comes out with! “Yes…like sick….” made me laugh out loud as did the cat drinking gin! #fortheloveofBLOG

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awww this is so cute! My eldest was a walking commercial too at that age! He once said to me “mummy we need quantum tablets to make our dishes clean” ermmm ok then!

    We have also transferred to bunk beds recently and it’s worked out really well. (Much better than I’d imagined!)

    Thank you for linking up to #KCACOLS and I hope to see you back again next wk xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. so funny! i’m always surprised at the things kids come up with and where they learn it from. I’ve actually found TV to be very educational and a great source of learning how the world works!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh I love Jet’s wisdoms…so many in here that yes do make complete sense…very funny. The sick comparison isn’t actually that bad either, it’s probably almost a colour match – I suppose it depends on the sick. Anyway anyway… The advert thing made me laugh…this evening in the bath E started to pour water over the side muttering in a sing-song voice about ‘clear the bacteria too’. Ahh thank you Milkshake. #KCACOLS

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh he’s such a character! I love the stuff they come out with. I quite often end up saying; ohhhhhhkaaaaay, and looking completely mystified! A lot of the stories can take a while to come out too. 😀 The thought of seeing worms on the underground made me chuckle! I have seen mice before though. Thanks for linking! #bigpinklink

    Liked by 1 person

  6. He is very wise! Why did the Romans have roads if they didn’t drive?? And do cats drink gin? Is that why they have that look on their face most of the time? (A bit like they’ve just sucked a lemon and sniffed something questionable at the same time – well that’s how I look if I try gin anyway?) Love this post, although I may never look at a daffodil in the same way.
    Thanks for linking up with #FartGlitter x

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I love his wisdom, and his honesty! It’s lovely that you remember all of his anecdotes – I wish I could remember more of what my boys say! #ftmob

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I loved reading Jet’s wisdoms – so funny. I particularly liked the one about the cat drinking Gin – I’m not sure what a drunk cat would do. It’s amazing isn’t it, what our children come out saying, I would wish that they stay this way forever. Thanks for joining our party at #fortheloveofBLOG, hope you join us again next week. Claire x

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Oh these are brilliant – love his thought process over why the Romans had roads when they didn’t have cars and the comment about cats drinking gin made me chuckle. Hope he and Stella are now fully recovered from the chicken pox and that the bunk beds are resulting in good dreams. I can see where he’s coming from with the colour comparison with daffodils but I’m sure there are much nicer comparisons to use! Thank you for linking up to #ftmob

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

