What Stella did next

Stella is talking so much more, it now feels as if you are actually having a conversation with her. Some of the words are still missing from her phrases, replaced by garbles, but her meaning is increasingly clear. When I interrupted her reading by scooping her up to get her dressed, she exclaimed indignantly, “Mummy! Agoo-gee-goo book!” At breakfast time she spied my fruit, put her own down and demanded, “Mummy. Agoo-gee-goo apple. Eat!” At bath time, Stellaย saw the cat perched on a stool that she considered too close to the bath. “Juno! Noggin da baff!” she instructed, wagging a finger.

20160325_121412_resized

She has picked up all sorts of little social niceties – after a burp: “Parmee me,” she will also pardon others if they do a burp: “Parm oo,” if someone sneezes: “Bless oo,” when she is given something: “Fenk oo,” she drops something: “Oopsie,” an impressive event or object: “Oh, wow!” a performance or creation: “Tada!” someone enters the room: “Hello!”. On seeing herself in the mirror yesterday, she said, “Hello, Seya!” to herself.

When Stella finds her hands are covered in food or some other muck, her first response is to rub them in her hair. She likes to combine her love of hairdressing with her interest in clothing, putting a leaf of cabbage, complete with gravy from her roast on her head and declaring “hat!”. The overall look is lank, greasy hairย with added food morsels.

20160326_172506_resized

Out of nowhere, I realised a few weeks ago that she is showing a lot of interest in numbers, pointing them out and trying to name them. Not that we ever have the TV on ๐Ÿ˜‰ but Stella greets all of her favourite CBeebies characters by name. I think they have been secretly teaching her to count whilst we aren’t looking.

20160323_113351_resized

Lately, lots of negative words have entered her vocabulary too. She now says “No!” when asked to do something she doesn’t like the sound of, “Don’t!” or “Dop!”if she’s unhappy about an occurrence. That said, her go-to method of getting her voice heard is still to throw herself to the floor for a good wail.

Having tried to master it for many months, she has finally succeeded in creating some distance between feet and floor and can now jump. She has added this to her wide repertoire of dance moves, along with raising alternate arms, rocking, bobbing, twisting and spinning.

20160314_104624_resized

On Mondays I love to take Stella out for a walk to the bakery. We usually take the scenic route home through aย local heritage area, along the New Riverย where we feed the ducks and geese, then Stella has her snack on the bench. Monday is bin day on our street, so the journey there is not so scenic, our narrow pavements full of wheelie bins. But sheย finds new delight in each one, making this theย soundtrack to our journey:

“Bin!”

“Yes, Stella. It’s a bin!”

“Mummy. Bin!”

“Yes Boppers.”

“Bin! Mummy bin!”

“Oh, yes! Another bin, Stella.”

“Mummy! Bin.”

When we get to the river, Stella summons the local wildlife by shouting “Duck! wack wack!” as she sprinkles oats onto the grass. She honks at the geese, who honk back, then relaxes on the bench to have her ‘nack before we amble back homewards.

20160314_105624_resized_1

On the way back, the bins have lost their previous allure. Cars, however, have taken on the mantle of “inanimate object most worthy of mention” in their place. We make slow progress towards home, Stella taking great pains to point out each and every one of them with fresh interest.ย Her wonder at all the ordinary things around her is enchanting and it is easy to let her sweep me along in it.

“Car! Mummy!”

“Yes, Bops. It’s a car!”

“Mummy. Oh wow! Car!”

“Wow Stella!”

20160314_104752_resized

If you liked reading about Stella, you can read more hereย or here.

Parmee me, but I have been nominated for the MADS in ‘School Days’ and the BiBs in ‘Writer’ (badges in the sidebar). If my blog makes you say “Oh, wow!” and you would like to support my probably fruitless efforts to make the shortlist, I would definitely say “Fenk oo.”

You don’t have to be a blogger to vote, and it doesn’t take long!

My url is https://nipperandtyke.wordpress.com

My Twitter handle is @aliwal

My email address is alice_eaton3@hotmail.com

Little Hearts, Big Love
Share the Joy linky at TheJoyChaser.com
Pink Pear Bear
Mudpie Fridays
Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday
44 thoughts on “What Stella did next

  1. Ah Mondays sound lovely. What sunny spring pictures too. Yes my son does the food in the hair thing…essentially he uses his hair and neck/cheek as a napkin. Bins and cars, oh to be little again.
    Good luck in the BiBs and MADs…I think everyone should vote for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, Alice, this is absolutely too adorable! I love how you take us into your daughter’s world so vividly. I feel like I can hear her as she’s learning the world around her. How fun! It is amazing to watch and wonder what goes on in those little minds as they discover the world, isn’t it? I love that she’s already loving numbers…perhaps you have the next leader in science or math on your hands! Thank you for sharing with #sharethejoylinky!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Regina, both of my children have taken to numbers very early on – I guess it is their engineering Grandad’s genes coming through ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you for hosting ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

    1. The kids wandered under a rope and into the beautiful sea of flowers – I guess they should have thought more about the heights of those they wanted to keep out when they put the barrier up! I had to duck under and retrieve them, but I made sure I took a few pics first ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  3. Oh, so much loveliness in this post! Lovely to hear how Stella is developing, and the words she now has in her vocabulary, and what lovely pictures to go with it! I’m with you in that I think cbeebies subliminally teaches children how to count, my youngest has started doing it with very little prompting from us! He will also delight in the same thing for an entire journey! Oh how I wish life could be that simple again!
    Good luck with the BIBS and MADS!! I’m so excited to find out the shortlist!
    Thanks so much for sharing with #bigpinklink!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you – best of luck to you, too. It is a weird feeling to have entered!
      She comes out with more and more every day. It is great ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you for hosting this lovely linky x

      Like

  4. I love all of Stella’s little toddlerisms you’ve shared here – the way little ones say their words is just so adorable. I especially like “noggin da baff!”, “parmee me” and “hello Seya”. How lovely that she takes an interest in numbers and your Monday walks feeding the ducks and stopping for a ‘nack sound wonderful. I do love the way little ones are so fascinated by everything they see. Thanks for linking up to #ftmob ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. As it is so cute this age with their take on words. Wow, one of my ds2 first words is no, haha that says a lot about him! Gotta love ceebies particularly twirlywoo’s has helped reach my youngest so much with opposites etc X #ftmob

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Bless her! I love the polite pardon mes & oopsies – so sweet! And very pleased that she does not ignore herself in the mirror, but greets herself properly! We have a little one who is a fan of rubbing food into her hair too. xx #ftmob

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ah, Stella sounds adorable! I love the starting to talk stage – I love how proud they are of pointing everything out! The mess in the hair though does not sound so cute!

    How lovely are all your photos too? So spring like – it finally arrived! #bloggerclubuk

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is fantastic when they start to chat away and give you an insight into their thoughts. I just think us grown ups are jealous that we can’t go about with weetabix in our hair without drawing attention to ourselves! ๐Ÿ™‚ x

      Like

  8. It’s so lovely you’ve recorded what she says at this age in a post. I started blogging for exactly that reason, because it goes so quickly, doesn’t it? One minute they’re saying ‘Parmee me’ and the next, ‘Mummy, you shouldn’t fart. It is quite smelly, Mummy’ (well, if they’re my daughter they are). Great photographs, too. #KCACOLS

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I know what you mean! When they are so delightfully charming it is hard to imagine them growing up into walking talking critics, but they almost certainly do!
      But luckily my farts don’t smell, so I should be alright ๐Ÿ˜‰ x

      Liked by 1 person

  9. What a little cutie! Reading posts like this makes me miss that stage, that’s what makes me want another! Literally watching them change and grow and go from babies to children. It has it’s hardships, but it’s such a lovely stage! #kcacols

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Mine was obsessed with the bin, I had to shoo him away, saying No, dirty! So he always called them Dutty’s. My Mum drove him somewhere once and estimates he said “Oooh, dutty! Duttehhh!” about 14365 times. #KCACOLS

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Aww this is so cute I love how their language develops and I am gutted I didnt record some of Monkeys fables. It sounds like she is coming on leaps and bounds. Love the car fascination, theres always something isn’t there. Good luck with he awards. Thank you for joining us at #BloggerClubUK hope to see you again this week x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

