The Great Jet-ini – Now that’s magic

Jet had finished doing a puzzle – this, after a full on morning at nursery, was extremely hard work for both of us. After, painstakingly and at length, the final piece had been placed, I asked him to tidy it away. But he had another solution.

Covering it with a blanket, he laid out some letters on top and read his ‘magic spell’ aloud. “Get back in the box because my mummy and daddy want you to go back in the box now,” he incanted in an eerie monotone, wiggling his fingers mysteriously. Then, “Let’s give it twenty minutes and see what happens.”

“What do you think is going to happen, Jet?” I asked, intrigued.

“It will get tidied up by magic!” My little Derren Brown (or perhaps Penn and Stella?) ran off to the dining table to plan his next illusion.

20160322_082741_Richtone(HDR)_resized
Don’t quote me on this, but wearing your trousers backwards may be the secret to his success

About twenty minutes later, I got fed up of waiting for him to put it away and did it myself. This I performed with no attempts at hypnotism and not so much as a puff of smoke, and the act went entirely unnoticed by the assembled audience (Jet and Stella) who were too busy making a new mess.

Some time later, Jet ran back over to the blanket, which was still lying on the floor where he had left it. “Let’s just see… It’s worked! It’s magic!” He announced, on turning back the corner of the blanket to reveal the completely-not-there-ness of the puzzle.

I had to shatter his illusion, for fear of setting a precedent that laying a blanket over any undesirables and spelling out a few magic words will result in them disappearing forever. Besides, I do not have enough sequined outfits to become a full time glamorous assistant.

Mudpie Fridays
Best of Worst
Mumzilla
18 thoughts on “The Great Jet-ini – Now that’s magic

  1. If he ever figures out how to make that trick work, let me know. It would be great to be able to chuck a blanket over mess, walk away, come back and discover it’s all tidied up. Sadly, in our house the magic cleaning fairy is me 😦 But that does mean I get to pay myself with cake 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have to admire his ingenuity at clearing up! After all, he managed to avoid the actual clearing so his plan worked! So brilliant 🙂 Pretty sure backwards trousers really do hold some magical mystical powers too 😉 #bestandworst

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lol I would love if there was a little magic that could tidy up the playroom! It’d save so much time each week! Thanks so much for linking up with us! #bloggerclubuk

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

