Killing time #1

Puzzles

Those who know me well know that I am partial to a range of these. From a kakuro to a griddler, crosswords both numerical and word-based, there is a puzzle for my every mood. I love to sit down with one of my favourite pencils (everyone has a favourite pencil, don’t they?) and get down to business. I even have a clipboard dedicated to this purpose.

Yes, I do know how rock and roll I am. So rock and roll that one night at Uni when all my friends were probably out drinking themselves silly, I walked to the 24 hour garage to buy Puzzler magazine. When I got home I realised, to my dismay, it was the same issue I had recently completed. That rock and roll.

IMG_20160301_133907
A selection of particularly good puzzling pencils

Every now and then, on one of my loft-based rummages, I come across one of my most treasured possessions – a custom issue of Puzzler Magazine where I feature on the front cover, made for me by one of my friends. On the back, being ably assisted by some mobility furniture, is Chris. This is a fitting tribute to my love of the puzzle.

Before we had the children, every Saturday morning I used to pop to a local cafe to indulge myself in a couple of coffees over a super sudoku in the Indy. Sadly, I don’t get time to read a newspaper anymore. Or drink drinks whilst they are still hot. I can’t even buy a print copy of the Indy. And due to their obvious superiority, all of my special pencils have been commandeered by a small boy. How the world changes…

If by some miracle I am able to find one of my own pencils and sit down long enough to actually start doing a puzzle, mere minutes pass before one of the kids will need something inedible removed from their mouth, to be rescued from an overambitious expedition down the back of some furniture, require a snack or some other assistance.

By the time I return to it, it looks like this:

IMG_20160301_135426
Stella takes the abstract approach
IMG_20160301_134616
When I found him, Jet was saying “I don’t know how to do crosswords,” to himself. I think he had got them confused with mazes.
IMG_20160301_135012
I thought it was my puzzle – my mistake!

They seem to have reached an understanding, one of them creating a diversion whilst the other has a go at solving 1 across. It is probably their way of telling me to stop procrastinating and get on with something more pressing. I’m proud of the emergent teamwork. Also I’m glad that we all have a common interest 🙂 . Needless to say, the days of purchasing more than one issue of Puzzler per month are long gone…

Pink Pear Bear
My Kid Doesn't Poop Rainbows
My Petit Canard
27 thoughts on “Killing time #1

  1. Haha, very funny, particularly the over-ambitious expeditions – I know those well! I hope you get time to complete a puzzle today as a mothers day gift! X
    #KCACOLS

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love a good puzzle! My daughter likes to try and I too have a special box of favourite pencils that I have to keep tucked away in hidden or they will suddenly belong to a small person…#KCACOLS

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had a bit of a go at a few puzzles and a few cups of coffee were needed, due to a terrible night’s sleep – thank you chicken pox! 🙂 Hope you’ve had a good day too 🙂

      Like

  3. I used to love to do puzzles and play games on my phone but these days in my free time, well I guess what one would classify as free time, I’m either blogging, working on a photography project, a design project, or cleaning. Can’t remember the last time I read a book from start to finish. As a matter of fact I’ve been reading the same book for 2 years. I am visiting from #bigpinklink.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m the same – but it is good to put your efforts into something like that where you can really feel that you have achieved something at the end of it, not just got to the next level or answered all the clues 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t think I’ve ever done an alien abduction puzzle – I’m going to google that 😉 I suppose we should take it as a compliment that they want to copy everything we do and get stuck in… if only this applied to clearing up and other tedious tasks. x

      Like

  4. I absolutely LOVE that you have a specific clipboard and pencil!! I think hobbies are absolutely important, especially puzzling, it can help with all sorts of problems down the line, important to keep the brain sharp. I also like how your son wrote his name in! 😀 Thanks for linking up with us!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. In fairness to him, it looks to me like that IS Jet’s crossword. I mean, it does have his name on it! I always forget how much I actually enjoy puzzles if I start doing them. I’ve never had this level of commitment to it though! I have no hobbies anymore! x #KCACOLS

    Like

  6. Hope you get a chance to get back to the puzzles soon. For me it’s reading that’s gone out the window. It’s so hard to fit everything in. Love you have a special clipboard. #kcacols lifeinthemumslane

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is just one in a long list of neglected and unfulfilled hobbies – I don’t do too badly with some, others have fallen completely by the way side 🙂 Thanks for your comment 🙂
      x

      Like

  7. Oh no!!! I hope you can find the time to enjoy doing your puzzles again and not getting interrupted by the kids. It is just so lovely to see how much you love it and how well organised you are for it. Great pencils btw!! 😉 Thanks so much for sharing this at #KCACOLS. I would love to see you again on Sunday! 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I was just saying to my husband, that I can never find a pencil! I love a good puzzle too, hubby and I sometimes do them while having dinner (after H is in bed) – we find the local monthly news magazine has a few good crosswords and sudokus x #kcacols

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can see that I am not alone in loving a puzzle! It is bordering on torture to not be able to find a pencil. In fact, I always have one on me, because you never know when you might find a crossword that needs doing 🙂 x

      Like

Leave a Reply

