Hot?

Along with the rest of the population, Jet has been quite hot this week. Whenever the mood takes him he is to be found parading in the altogether.

20150607_122200_resized

My house and garden are now littered with discarded pants andย I have become more accustomed to the sight of my boy’s bits and bobs than I would care to be.
I haven’t been this intimately acquainted with him since before he was potty trained.

All this is perfectly understandable, given the temperatures we have seen this week.ย What is less straightforward, and therefore perhaps more typically Jetlike, are his bedtime stylings these days, which are the polar opposite.

Not content with wearing a sleeping helmet, (who needs ventilation anyway?) he categorically insists upon pyjamas whilst everyone else in London and the South East has well and truly sacked that off in favour of nudity. And not just any pyjamas, oh no. They MUST be the Thomas ones. Which happen to be flannel :/ Great choice there, son.

Once he is fully attired, he rebuffs my suggestion that he sleeps uncovered. Furthermore, offeringsย of a light sheet or baby blanket meet with frank refusal. He insists that the only suitable bedding for the hottest day of the year is his normal duvet, and will not be convinced otherwise.

Meanwhile, sensible Stella is happy to be put to bed in just her vest. This admirable approach is roundly ridiculed by the soon-to-be sweatiest boy in Enfield.

As soon as he is asleep, I sneak in and remove the duvet, but I know from experience not to mess with the sleeping helmet ๐Ÿ˜€

Friday Frolics
A Cornish Mum
Running in Lavender
13 thoughts on “Hot?

  1. If I’d of known about ‘sleeping helmets’ as a nipper I’d of worn one, perfect protection against flys and spiders in my mouth ๐Ÿ˜€ Jet is wise beyond his years! Though I’m not sure about the flannel Jim-jams. Maybe be he is an old man trapped in a boy’s body, old people don’t seem to notice that it’s boiling out, still wearing about six layers. My husband fits stairlifts, he fit one yesterday…the old lady had the heating on!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I thnk we’ve been lucky in Cornwall as although it’s been uncomfortably hot at night at times, we’ve not even reached the 30’s unlike everywhere else! It will probably wait til next week to reach it’s worst here when I’m watching my sons in a school play where the theatre is like an oven inside at the best of times! This is the 1st year where my sons have decided to sleep in their pants and not insisted on PJ’s and they’re 9 and almost 11….children are just crazy!

    Thanks for linking up to #PicknMix lovely,
    Stevie xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

