31 of our children’s nicknames

I love to make up stupid words. When I was a child, my dad was always coining new phrases, to the point where he managed toย convince me that many of his creations were real words. Although “bogison” and “musequick” were not widely used by others, they would surely know what I meant if I said them?

This was not the case ๐Ÿ˜€20150523_160434_resized

Anyway, now I have my own children, I can plague them with my own brand of madness. Having carefully chosen their names, we now call them anything but Jet and Stella. I give you aย list of things we call our children:

20150518_125858_resized

Jet:

  • Jettles
  • Jettlekins
  • Littles
  • Jet-let
  • Chief
  • Matey Boy Roy
  • Boy chops
  • Boy features
  • Mr
  • Boy
  • Stinklebutt
  • Babycakes
  • Cheeklechops
  • Bubbins

20150527_133620_resized

Stella:

  • Stells
  • Boppers
  • Stelly Boppers
  • Mary Boppins
  • Stellington
  • Miss Muffet
  • Mrs
  • Little Dot
  • Dotty Pyjamas
  • Bopples
  • Bopplechops
  • Girl features
  • Kickylegs McGee
  • Belly Choppers
  • Stelly McGeezles
  • Stella Star
  • Cheekly Choppingtons

Having me for a mother is an affliction.

What do you call your children?

#JustMe?20150527_132921_resized

The List

Everything Mummy

15 thoughts on “31 of our children’s nicknames

  1. Haha, I love this! Surely it’s a mother’s right to call their children all sorts of random things! My daughter is Nerys but gets called Neri-noo, Nink-nonk and plink-plonk quite a lot! x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Those names made me chuckle… I was just bathing them and putting them to bed and I have remembered a few others they get called as well. My favourite extra one is Grumpelstiltskin, which either of them can be called, depending on how grumpy they are at the time ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

  2. haha! So funny. No you are not the only one :). I call Reeve, Reeve, but have a few other names for him: Reevie Boy, Reevemeister, Cutie Pie, and Baby. Love yours though. Why do we go to all the effort to name our kids, then hardly ever use the name! xo

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Glad I am not the only one who has a ridiculous number of silly names for their kids. I am slightly concerned that I’m not going to be able to stop myself from automatically saying Pickle Pants, even when my eldest is in school & may prefer not to be Pickle Pants! I don’t think anyone can expect anything different from me, though – I spent my childhood being called Bob and Bobifer by my sister. My name is not Bob. It wasn’t just my childhood. I am still Bob.

    &, re comment above, I use Grumpelstiltskin! I LOVE Grumpelstiltskin!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I too love making up names and words. My favorite poem as a child was Jabberwocky for that very reason. Rhiannon regularly uses my made up words as part of her vocabulary not realizing that they are… um… somewhat frimblous to other people. โ˜บ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. When I was at Uni, one of my friends and I were discussing things that you find disturbing, such as nails down the blackboard, the sensation of foil on your metal fillings, etc. She said, “Yeah, that’s a real thithbee”
      I said, “What?”
      Turned out, that was what her mum called that sort of thing. She had got to the ripe old age of twenty before realising that it wasn’t a real word ๐Ÿ˜€ We laughed our asses off!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

